Leading the veterinary profession

AAHA’s international recognition as a leader in the industry is a tribute to the vision and dedication of the many veterinary professionals who have devoted time and energy to serve AAHA through the years.

Ready to give back to the industry in a leadership role for one of the most respected Associations in the profession? Shape the future of veterinary medicine and help us continue to strive for excellence when you become part of task force teams, development committees, advisory groups, and the AAHA Board of Directors.

Apply for a leadership position

Board of Directors

Meet the current members of the AAHA Board of Directors, including their contact information and leadership roles in the association.

AAHA Board of Directors Slate of Nominations

Pamela Nichols, DVM, CCRP

Animal Care Center

698 West 500 South
West Bountiful, Utah 84087
Phone: 801-294-5960

Leadership Roles

AAHA Board of Directors: president


Adam Hechko, DVM

North Royalton Animal Hospital

9027 Ridge Road
North Royalton, Ohio 44133-1870
Phone: 440-237-7691

Leadership Roles

AAHA Board of Directors: president-elect
Animal Ethics and Welfare Committee: board liaison
Practice Accreditation Committee: board liaison



Margot K. Vahrenwald, DVM

Park Hill Veterinary Medical Center PC

2255 Oneida Street
Denver, Colorado 80207
Phone: 303-388-2255

Leadership Roles

AAHA Board of Directors: vice president
Online Accreditation Engagement Committee: board liaison
Membership Audit and Control Committee: board liaison

Dermot Jevens, DVM, MVB, DACVS

Upstate Vet

393 Woods Lake Road
Greenville, South Carolina 29607-2775
Phone: 864-233-7650

Leadership Roles

AAHA Board of Directors: secretary/treasurer

Guylaine Charette, DMV

Pembroke Animal Hospital

905 Pembroke Street East
Pembroke, Ontario K8A 3M3
Phone: 613-732-3641

Leadership roles

AAHA Board of Directors: immediate-past president

Cheryl Smith, CVPM

Galway Veterinary Hospital

5072 Sacandaga Road
Galway, NY 12074
Phone: 518-882-1850

Leadership Roles

AAHA Board of Directors: director



Mark Thompson, DVM, CCRP

Country Hills Pet Hospital

N4415A Highway 45
Eden, WI 53019
Phone: 920-477-3003

Leadership Roles

AAHA Board of Directors: director



Scott Driever, DVM

Animal Hospital Highway 6

3429 Highway 6 South
Sugar Land, TX 77478
Phone: 281-980-8387

Leadership roles

AAHA Board of Directors: director




Garth Jordan

American Animal Hospital Association

12575 W Bayaud Ave
Lakewood, Colorado 80228
Phone: 303-986-2800


Leadership Roles

AAHA Board of Directors: chief executive officer
Executive: AAHA staff
Learn more

Past Presidents


Dr. Guylaine Charette 2019–20 Pembroke, ON, CA 613-732-3641
Dr. Darren Taul 2018–19 Lancaster, KY 859-792-2105
Dr. Mark McConnell 2017–18 Springfield, OR 541-746-0112
Dr. Nancy Soares 2016–17 Macungie, PA 610-421-8381
Dr. Tracey Jensen 2015–16 Wellington, CO 970-568-7387
Dr. Kate Crumley 2014–15 Youngsville, NC 919-570-9311
Dr. Kate Knutson 2013–14 Bloomington, MN 952-884-8248
Dr. Mark Russak 2012–13 Berlin, CT 860-357-3425
Dr. Michael Moyer 2011–12 Bensalem, PA 215-638-9275
Dr. Gregg K. Takashima 2010–11 Lake Oswego, OR 503-636-2102
Dr. John D. Tait 2009–10 Guelph, ON 519-824-4120
Dr. Anna E. Worth* 2008–09 Bennington, VT  
Dr. Thomas A. Carpenter 2007–08 Costa Mesa, CA 949-631-1031
Dr. Michael P. Andrews 2006–07 Riverside, CA 951-780-3250
Dr. Daniel S. Aja 2005–06 Portland, OR 231-922-0500
Dr. Dennis A. Feinberg 2004–05 Charleston, SC 843-571-4291
Dr. Link V. Welborn 2003–04 Tampa, FL 813-885-4477
Dr. Kathleen T. Neuhoff 2002–03 Mishawaka, IN 574-259-5291
Dr. R. Michael Thomas 2001–02 Indianapolis, IN 317-462-7818
Dr. Thomas J. Cusick 2000–01 Watertown, MA 617-926-8888
Dr. Michael A. Paul 1999–00 Anguilla, British West Indies 264-497-6120
Dr. M.J. (Peg) Rucker 1998–99 Lebanon, VA 276-889-5515
Dr. Jay W. Geasling 1997–98 Buffalo, NY 716-833-2255
Dr. Merry C. Crimi 1996–97 Oregon City, OR 503-631-8285
Dr. Clayton A. MacKay 1995–96 Guelph, Ontario 519-766-4949
Dr. Tristram C. Carpenter 1994–95 Norwood, MA 781-769-3011
Dr. Larry G. Dee 1993–94 Hollywood, FL 954-920-3356
Dr. Thomas C. Maddux 1992–93 New Castle, DE 302-328-8990
Dr. Gabor K. Vajda 1991–92 Phoenix, AZ 602-995-0460
Dr. M.E. (Marv) Johnson 1990–91 Des Moines, IA 515-276-4511
Dr. Linda M. Merry 1989–90 New Castle, DE 302-328-8990
Dr. Henry E. Childers 1988–89 Cranston, RI 401-943-0770
Dr. Milton L. Willen 1987–88 Mason, OH 513-204-1983
Dr. John W. Albers 1986–87 Denver, CO 303-986-2800
Dr. R.L. Collinson* 1985–86 Los Altos, CA  
Dr. Lloyd W. George 1984–85 Fort Lauderdale, FL 954-583-9110
Dr. John B. McCarthy* 1983–84 Easton, MD  
Dr. Robert H. Featherston* 1982–83 Tulsa, OK  
Dr. Raymond G. Pahle* 1981–82 New Berlin, WI 262-782-4761
Dr. David M. Drenan 1980–81 Tallmadge, OH 330-630-8767
Dr. William A. Sumner* 1979–80 Kinston, NC 406-754-2297
Dr. Edward J. Lemos 1978–79 Barrington, NH 603-664-9028
Dr. Warren G. Walker* 1977–78 La Canada, CA 818-790-4844
Dr. Jerry G. Peck* 1976–77 Des Plaines, IL  
Dr. Franklin Gruesser* 1975–76 Jacksonville, FL  
Dr. Robert L. Ticehurst* 1974–75 Englewood, FL  
Dr. Ray Russell* 1973–74 Mesa, AZ  
Dr. V.G. Crago* 1972–73 Youngstown, OH  
Dr. George W. Abbott* 1971–72 Ithaca, NY  
Dr. Mil A. Custer* 1970–71 San Diego, CA  
Dr. William J. Westcott* 1969–70 Bingham Farms, MI 248-647-0144
Dr. William A. Howarth* 1968–69 Englewood, CO  
Dr. William J. Foster* 1967–68 Clifton, NJ  
Dr. Howard F. Carroll* 1966–67 Boulder Creek, CA  
Dr. E. Edgar Ruebush* 1965–66 Chevy Chase, MD  
Dr. Jack R. Dinsmore* 1964–65 Glenview, IL  
Dr. Lee R. Phillips* 1963–64 Lakewood, CO  
Dr. Robert P. Knowles* 1962–63 Miami, FL  
Dr. Lester R. Barto* 1961–62 Basking Ridge, NJ  
Dr. Wayne H. Riser* 1960–61 West Grove, PA  
Dr. W.K. Riddell* 1959–60 San Pedro, CA  
Dr. William G. Magrane* 1958–59 Osceola, IN  
Dr. J.A. Millar* 1957–58 Deal, NJ  
Dr. J.H. Yarborough* 1956–57 Miami, FL  
Dr. W.F. Irwin* 1955–56 Tulsa, OK  
Dr. C.W. Bower* 1954–55 Topeka, KS  
Dr. L.A. Corwin* 1953–54 Jamaica, NY  
Dr. M.A. Thom* 1952–53 Pasadena, CA  
Dr. Ralph E. Ruggles* 1951–52 Moline, IL  
Dr. J.R. Currey* 1950–51 Bethesda, MD  
Dr. J.S. Crawford* 1949–50 New Hyde Park, NY  
Dr. H.H. Groth* 1948–49 San Mateo, CA  
Dr. A.R. Theobald* 1947–48 Cincinnati, OH  
Dr. T.W. Craver* 1946–47 Youngstown, OH  
Dr. C.P. Zepp* 1944–46 New York, NY  
Dr. Joseph B. Engle* 1942–44 Summit, NJ  
Dr. O. Stader* 1941–42 Ardmore, PA  
Dr. D.A. Eastman* 1940–41 Miami, FL  
Dr. L.H. LaFond* 1939–40 Detroit, MI  
Dr. S.W. Haigler* 1937–39 St. Louis, MO  
Dr. J.V. Lacroix* 1936–37 Evanston, IL  
Dr. F.E. McClelland* 1935–36 Buffalo, NY  
Dr. M.L. Morris* 1933–35 Topeka, KS